Elizabethtown Tennis Commission

» News

2014 USTA KY Awards

2014 USTA Kentucky Award Winners
Congratulations to the 2014 USTA Kentucky Award winners. 
Adult Player of the Year-Julie Ditty, Ashland
Junior Player of the Year-Brandon Lancaster, Louisville
Volunteer of the Year-Megan Berry, Versailles
Mark Ragland Boys Sportsmanship Award-Dino Selimovic, Louisville
Mary Lou Hambrick Girls Sportsmanship Award-Emily Zelichenok, Louisville
Boy's Scholastic Achievement-Newcomb Maddux, Hopkinsville
Girl's Scholastic Achievement-Gretchen Powell, Hopkinsville
Bruce Stone Educational Merit Award-Sonya Harward, Lawrenceburg
Most Improved Boy-Daniel Lineberry, Louisville
Most Improved Girl-Lauren Waddles, Nicholasville
Dee Dee Long Spirit Award-Sonya Harward, Lawrenceburg
Family of the Year-The Gerlach Family, Louisville
Media Award-Rena Baer (Lexington Challenger), Lexington
Coach of the Year-Jeff Leeper, Paducah
Paulette Griffith Local League Coordinator of the Year-Priscilla Schiff, Paducah
Jr. Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year-Julie Dick, Georgetown
Tennis Official of the Year-Leony Barroso, Lawrenceburg
Tennis Professional of the Year- John "JJ" Bogusewski, Lexington
Tennis Facility of the Year-Freeman Lake Tennis Complex, Elizabethtown
Junior Tournament of the Year-Ryan Holder State Closed, Lexington
Special Tennis Event of the Year-Masters Tennis Event,Frankfort
Charity Event of the Year-Pavo Loco Holiday Tournament, Lexington
Team Tennis Event of the Year-Central KY JTT Futures Tournament, Elizabethtown
Community Tennis Association of the Year-Paducah Tennis Association, Paducah
Captain of the Year-Thomas Heavrin, Louisville
The Kentucky Tennis Awards Celebration was held October 11, 2014 at The Brown Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky.  Awards were presented by USTA Kentucky and Raise A Racquet Foundation.  The City of Elizabethtown received two of the awards.  The Tennis Facility of the Year was awarded to Freeman Lake Tennis Complex.    Councilman Bill Bennett, Mayor Edna Berger and Etown Tennis Commission Chairman Bo O’Brien accepted the award.  The Team Tennis Event of the Year was awarded to the Central KYJTT Futures Tournament held in Elizabethtown.  Bob Love was Director of the Tournament.  The award was accepted by Etown Tennis Commission Chairman Bo O’Brien and JTT Coach Teri Christensen.